Evanston School Children's Clothing Association
1500 McDaniel
Evanston, IL 60201




For over 87 years, The Evanston School Children’s Clothing Association has served our community with the motto: “No Evanston child should miss a single day of school for need of warm, sturdy clothing.” In 1930, Evanston school superintendent James Skiles asked school physician Mary Baird to investigate why large numbers of children in the city were absent from school. After conferring with the visiting nurse and truancy officer, Baird concluded that children were missing school because of a lack of clothing, especially shoes. With these findings, local parent-teacher associations enlisted support and in 1931 founded the Evanston School Children’s Aid Society to help clothe Evanston’s children in need. Eighty-one years, two name changes and five location changes later, ESCCA is still providing children with clothing for school.



Over the years we have had our headquarters for sorting and distributing clothing at various Evanston elementary schools, as well as in the coachhouse of the old District 65 property on Asbury. Since 2002, we have been thrilled to operate our beautiful clothing center from the District headquarters at 1500 McDaniel in Evanston.

We have clothed thousands of children with the help of countless volunteers and contributors. Through the generations ESCCA has evolved, while our mission and support has remained steadfast. We invite and encourage you to help us in any way you can.

2018-2019 OFFICERS

Co-Presidents: Kristin O’Connor & Tracy Gallun
1st Vice President: Callie Hill, School Chair/Organization Liaison
2nd Vice President:  Enid Shapiro, Facility Manager
3rd  Vice President:  Diane Wright, Recipient Scheduling
Treasurer: Susan Powell
Recording/Corresponding Secretaries: Julie Doyle & Gini Ohlson


Sabrina Clark: Fundraising

Madeleine Cusick: Facilities Assistant

Ellen Durston: Grants
Emily Erickson: Member at Large

Nicole Fisher: Recipient Scheduling
Allison Gordon: Coats and Jeans Purchasing

Laura Hohnhold: Recipient Scheduling

Diane Kastman: Coats and Jeans Purchasing

Joanna Kramer: Volunteers

Dorene Lynch: Funds Controller

Sally Lynch: Shoe Buyer
Liz McElhatton: Member at Large

Linnea Mead: Supervisor & Asst. Supervisor Reminders

Kristin O’Connor: Digital Communications

Susan Roche: Publicity

Kelly Siddiqui: Friday Sorts

Debbie Singer: School Chair/Organization Liaison

Pat Ulmer: Facilities Assistant

© 2023 by ESCCA. Proudly created with Wix.com

Contact us:


Find us: 

1500 McDaniel, Evanston, IL 60201